Day 6

Wow! I cannot believe that this was my second last day of being in the classroom for the semester. It has definitely flown by, but time flies when you’re having fun! I had a pretty eventful day. In the morning we had a school assembly and it was the first time hearing that the school was taking part in an activity based on the movie “Inside Out” The movie is about a young girl who just like us, is guided by the emotions: joy, fear, anger, disgust and sadness. These emotions live in Headquarters, the control center inside Riley’s mind, and guide her in her everyday life. These emotions are actually made into characters in the movie. Each week, the school introduces a new character in an assembly. The whole school is so excited about it and so eager to learn more. The principle and vice principle visit each classroom and talk about how these different emotions might affect a person. For example, the students are given a scenario and they have to decide which emotion that scenario falls under and how you can manage that emotion. I think it is such a great idea and that this activity teaches students the skills and knowledge for everyday life.

Our school runs on the 5 day schedule which has its ups and downs.  Day 2 and day 5 are band days, and since I am in a 6/7 split, we do not have the whole class for most of the morning which can be quite frustrating at times. This also limits us as to what we can teach. Today I taught Art again, which I am not upset about because I am very comfortable teaching it. Since grade 6 is all about identity, I got the class to come up with their own definition of identity, and examples of what influences someone’s identity. I then asked the class to tell me what their schools’ identity is. I then asked them to create a banner for the school based on it’s identity.  This class absolutely loves art and anything that has to do with drawing, so they loved it. There are so many talented drawers and I loved seeing all their banners. Although I love teaching Art, I want to challenge myself and step outside of my comfort zone. So next week I am going to teach a Social Studies lesson!

Leave a Reply

