Miss Hack is back!

Let me tell you, it feels so good to be back in the school teaching. This semester had me so frustrated, that I was counting down the days to be back in the school. I have learned so much in these past few days than I have all semester. I have created great lessons, and lessons that need improvement. I have dealt with classroom issues and got a taste of marking assignments as well as report cards. Actually being in the classroom teaching is where you learn how to be a successful teacher.

The first day back was kind of a gong show. The students were all over the place and things kept coming up. I was pretty overwhelmed at first with everything going on, but then realized that it will be the first of many days. After talking with my co-op teacher, she reminded me that some days will not be fun at all, but most days the kids make it all worth it. At the end of the day two students handed me little notes with nice comments on them, and it put a big smile on my face.

English has gone good so far. I find it a little difficult as the curriculum is so huge and there is a lot to cover. Also, I am teaching a 6/7 split where there are 4 students who need totally different lessons to meet their ability. What I also find difficult is that some days the grade sevens have band or PAA, so they miss what the grade 6’s are doing on those days. So I have to create lessons that do not result in the grade 7’s getting far behind. Although it can be stressful at times, I am so happy to be back in the classroom and doing what I love to do!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

