Stress Ease

I have found myself gradually getting stressed and overwhelmed as the week goes on. I am feeling the pressures of the semester wrap up catching up to me. I have been so exhausted trying to balance work with three spring classes as well as all the other aspects of my life. However, I have come to realize that this is only temporary and that I have to learn how to deal with it in the meantime. Therefore, I introduce to you 3 calming yoga poses, showcased by your one and only. Before I began, I made myself some chamomile tea because I’ve read so many good things about it. My first reaction when I tasted it was: well I could just go and boil some weeds..it would probably taste the same. But it is growing on me!

1.  Also, I hope you don’t mind my messy closet in the background..and my awesome plaid p.j. pants!

The first pose I did is called the Lotus pose. This one was my favourite out of the three. It promotes inner calmness and eliminates anxiety. 


Im not sure if this is the actual name of the pose but this website calls it the legs-up-the-wall pose. This pose helps to calm you because it helps to renew blood and lymph drainage back into the heart area.


The last pose I did was the head-to-knee forward bend. As you can see, my flexibility is pretty much non-existent here, however I feel like it has improved. This website gives you step by step directions on how to do this pose. It supposedly helps to relive mild depression, anxiety, fatigue, and insomnia…so this pose is right up my alley!

I have found blogging to be very therapeutic. Shocking, considering I once found it to be such a drag. I would like to thank Katia for encouraging us to stick with it. And by encouraging I mean forcing us to do it in our classes…in the most loving way of course!

Now that I am relaxed and have released some stress, I’m going to patiently wait for the storm to arrive so it can put me to sleep.  I find those to be calming as well. Weird… I know.

2 thoughts on “Stress Ease

  1. Nice post, Shelby!

    The great thing about yoga is that there are so many different types! Some types of yoga help build strength and endurance, but as you wrote about, some types can also help with relaxation and stress management. I took a yoga class last year and it was awesome because the instructor changed it up every week — some days we did a hardcore yoga workout, and other times we just stretched and meditated.

    Chamomile tea is one of my faves! It’s a calming tea, so it’s great to have before you go to bed. I also like to drink it when I have a stomach ache or feel bloated. Try adding a tablespoon of honey — it should help give it flavour and make it less weed-y. 😉

    Like

  2. Pingback: ECMP 355 Learning Contributions – Amy Martin

Leave a Reply

