Have You Ever Done Yoga in a Dress? I Have.

This week for my #learningproject, I was inspired by Jessica  to expand my horizon and search for apps to help me with my yoga. I had never thought of using an app before, but I am glad I did. I went on a manhunt for the perfect yoga app and came across the Yoga Studio app . It had great ratings on App Store as well as great reviews. So I downloaded it and began to explore. I found many great things and compiled this small list:

  • it is simple and easy to use. The layout  makes it easy to navigate
  • there are many videos and many sequences to chose from
  • the videos are all in high definition making it clear and easy to follow
  • if you have an iPhone, you can connect it to the health app
  • smart link feature enables you to connect poses that might not naturally lead into each other. This way you see exactly how to smoothly move from one pose to the next

I then decided that it was time to try it out. I headed over to the beginner yoga sequences and started searching for a sequence. I was a little upset that I still consider myself at a beginners level, but then I decided that I should not be hard on myself. I looked back on my first couple of posts, and realized that I had made progress, and that’s all you can ask for!

Below is an example of a sequence.


The woman in the picture talks you through each sequence,in a nice, calming voice.

Another thing that I like about this app is that it shows you each pose that you are going to do in a list, so if you wanted to skip to a particular part of the sequence, you can click on it and it will take you there.

Below is a picture of the sequence that I decided to try. My video would not upload so I decided to take pictures instead!



I decided to show you some of the new poses that I have been working on. This one is called cat pose. I really like this one because it helps with my lower back pain, which I have noticed improvements on since I started this learning project!

This next pose is called half camel. My hand is supposed to be touching my ankle, but as you can see I couldn’t get that far! I felt a good stretch in my abdomen, but this one actually hurt my lower back.


This pose is called crab pose. From looking at some pictures, my body should be in more of a straight line. At the time, it felt like it! Honestly! This pose definitely challenged the core. I compare it to a plank, except it’s like a reverse of it!


This last one is a warrior pose, and although it’s not a new pose of mine, I wanted to share it because it has improved immensely since the beginning of my learning project!

I thought I would end this pose off with a good laugh. I thought my phone had already taken the picture, but I guess not! You also may be wondering why I’m wearing a dress while doing yoga and I feel the need to explain. I will be hopping on a plane soon and didn’t really want to mess up my suitcase trying to find other clothes, so I thought I would give it a whirl in a dress! They always say you should try doing new things….

Leave a Reply

