Weirdest Party I have Ever Been Too…

This week in #ecmp355 we explored coding. I had no idea what coding was until this week, and at first I was not sure how it fit in with education. However, after learning more about it, I believe that coding can be used in mathematics as well as Arts Education, and after reading Amy’s blog post, I have realized that coding can also fit into the ELA curriculum as well.I think coding would be a great tool to implement into the classroom. It can help students to develop problem solving skills and patience. I am a strong believer in allowing my students to express their individualism and creativity and I think this is a great way to do that. I also really liked using scratch because they give you step by step instructions on how to create a project, making it easy for first time users. Another aspect that I find interesting is you can check out other peoples projects that they have shared.

I decided to make a scratch project by using the Scratch website. The process was quite interesting and not as hard as I thought. I jumped right into it and this is what I came up with! For just a quick glance at what this process looks like, check out the picture below. 

Screen Shot 2016-06-25 at 3.00.56 PM

We were also introduced to a few other sites including Code.org where people can participate in Hour of Code. I encourage everyone to try it, its fun! Another website that we were exposed to was Code Academy and I suggest exploring the website as they have a lot of helpful tools on it.

Overall I thoroughly enjoyed learning about coding and have plans to implement it into my classroom!

 

 

Leave a Reply

